New stuff

So here’s the second part as promised it will be quick as I try just to cover some of the newer stuff I’ve been listening to that I didn’t cover in the previous post or to point out some stuff that I want to listen to and would like some feedback on from anyone out there.

I’ll start off with an artist that is close to home and by that I mean they are from just up the highway  about an hour from here in Carlisle, PA. The artist is Daughn Gibson who’s album Me Moan will be released on Sub Pop. Think of him as a mix between Johnny Cash/Nick Cave/Hank Williams and some weird new indie electronic band. Sub Pop has the entire album streaming on Soundcloud right now, but if you just go to their page the latest song from him is entitled You Don’t Fade so go for that one first.

Next up is a band that hails from the Great White North (i.e. Calgary, Canada). The group Reuben and the Dark was started as a solo project by Reuben Bullock before it has expanded to a full accompaniment. The released an album last year but have just recently signed to the label Arts & Crafts. The group has a mix of Mumford, Fleet Foxes, Bright Eyes with something else that I have yet to figure out from Reuben’s voice. Either way a nice mix indie rock/folk with nice harmonization and instrumentation spread throughout the entire song. Here’s their song Shoulderblade in both video and just audio form.


Finally, I’ve listened to the new Sigur Ros album a handful of times and am almost ready to write up a quick review. However, another band that I’ve come to love namely Portugal. The Man has apparently released a new album recently titled Evil Friends which I’d like to listen to sometime soon. Has anyone that reads this or might see this soon, had the chance to listen to it? Let me know in the comments! I’ll end with some songs from  other artists that I think people should given a listen to. A mix of post-rock, punk, and shoegaze. Enjoy!

All Lights

Words.

Paraguanoise

Smelly Tounges

Leave a comment